History and Citizenship Education Secondary IV

Print section

Introduction

The Progression of Learning for the History and Citizenship Education program will still be available to schools teaching this course in Secondary IV during the 2017-2018 school year.

The program of study and the Framework for the Evaluation of Learning are the only reference documents for the History of Québec and Canada program.

This document is complementary to the History and Citizenship Education program. It provides information about the knowledge students must acquire in history and citizenship education in Secondary Cycle Two in order to develop the three competencies prescribed by the program: Examines social phenomena from a historical perspective, Interprets social phenomena using the historical method and Strengthens his/her exercise of citizenship through the study of history. It is intended to help teachers with their lesson planning.

The Secondary Cycle Two program is designed to help students to develop their understanding of the present in the light of the past, and to prepare students to participate as informed citizens in the discussion, choices and community life of a society that is democratic, pluralistic and open to a complex world. They examine and interpret social phenomena while addressing key periods in the history of Québec and Canada, from the first occupants to the present. The social phenomena are studied chronologically in Secondary III and using themes of long duration in Secondary IV. The order in which the themes are presented is the same as in the History and Citizenship Education program. Teachers and cycle teams can assign the themes to match their planning needs. Each year ends with an examination of issues in Québec society.

This document contains tables divided into sections presenting, in the form of statements, knowledge related to the social phenomena studied. A brief description of each social phenomenon is provided. In the first section, the students examine Québec society in the present, while the second section presents knowledge needed for the interpretation of a social phenomenon of the past. The last section deals with learning that helps students understand the importance of participating in social life and the purpose of present-day public institutions.

Continuity between the elementary and secondary levels

At the elementary level, students became familiar with the concepts of territory, society, organization, change, diversity and time. The Geography, History and Citizenship Education program enabled students to look at the organization of societies and some of the issues resulting from the use and development of a territory in space and time. Students studied the relationships that exist between a society and its territory. They became aware of different territorial phenomena, past and present, and of the diversity of societies.

In Secondary Cycle One, students addressed this learning in greater depth. In History and Citizenship Education, they were encouraged to open up to the world. They used the historical method to examine and interpret social phenomena that constitute turning points in the history of the Western world, from prehistoric times to the contemporary period, such as First experience of democracy, The American or French revolution and Industrialization: an economic and social revolution. They became aware of the importance of human action as the motor of social change.

The techniques used in Secondary III and IV build on those developed in Secondary I and II. It is up to each teacher to determine the historical knowledge that can help students master the techniques used in History and Citizenship Education.

Histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté 4e secondaire

Imprimer la section

Présentation de la discipline

La progression des apprentissages du programme Histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté est toujours disponible pour les écoles qui l'enseignent en 2017-2018 en 4e secondaire.

Le programme d’études et le cadre d’évaluation des apprentissages constituent les seuls documents de référence pour le programme Histoire du Québec et du Canada.

Le présent document constitue un complément au programme Histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté. Il apporte des précisions sur les connaissances que les élèves doivent acquérir dans cette discipline, au deuxième cycle du secondaire, pour soutenir le développement des trois compétences prescrites par le programme, soit Interroger les réalités sociales dans une perspective historique, Interpréter les réalités sociales à l’aide de la méthode historique et Consolider l’exercice de sa citoyenneté à l’aide de l’histoire. Il vise à outiller les enseignantes et les enseignants au moment de la planification.

Au deuxième cycle du secondaire, les élèves sont amenés à comprendre le présent à la lumière du passé et à se préparer à participer de façon responsable, en tant que citoyens, à la délibération, aux choix de société et au vivre-ensemble dans une société démocratique, pluraliste et ouverte sur un monde complexe. Ils interrogent et interprètent des réalités sociales qui permettent d’aborder les périodes clés de l’histoire du Québec et du Canada, des Premiers occupants à nos jours. Les réalités sociales sont étudiées chronologiquement en troisième secondaire et selon des thématiques dans la longue durée en quatrième secondaire. L’ordre dans lequel les thématiques sont présentées est le même que dans le programme d’histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté. L’enseignante et l’enseignant ainsi que l’équipe-cycle ont le choix de répartir les thématiques selon les besoins de la planification. Chacune des années se termine par l’étude d’enjeux de la société québécoise.

Ce document comporte des tableaux divisés en sections qui présentent, sous forme d’énoncés, des connaissances liées aux réalités sociales. Un texte décrit sommairement la réalité sociale. Une première section amène les élèves à s'interroger sur la société québécoise d’aujourd’hui. Les connaissances liées à l’interprétation de la réalité sociale du passé sont ensuite présentées. Une dernière section est consacrée aux apprentissages qui sensibilisent les élèves à l’importance de la participation à la vie collective et à l’utilité d’institutions publiques aujourd’hui.

Du primaire au secondaire

Au primaire, dans le cadre du programme Géographie, histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté, les élèves se sont familiarisés avec les concepts de territoire, société, organisation, changement, diversité et durée. Ce programme leur a permis de s’intéresser à l’organisation de sociétés et à des questions que soulèvent l’utilisation et l’aménagement du territoire dans l’espace et dans le temps. Ils ont étudié des relations qui s’établissent entre une société et son territoire, et ont été sensibilisés à différentes réalités territoriales d’hier et d’aujourd’hui ainsi qu’à la diversité des sociétés.

Au premier cycle du secondaire, les élèves ont approfondi ces apprentissages. En Histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté, ils ont été amenés à s’ouvrir sur le monde. Ils ont interrogé et interprété, à l’aide de la méthode historique, des réalités sociales qui correspondent à d’importants moments de changement dans l’histoire du monde occidental, de la préhistoire jusqu’à l’époque contemporaine, notamment Une première expérience de démocratie, Les révolutions française ou américaine et L’industrialisation : une révolution économique et sociale. Ils ont pris conscience de l’importance de l’action humaine comme moteur du changement social.

Les techniques utilisées en 3e et 4e secondaire s'inscrivent en continuité de celles développées en 1re et en 2e année du secondaire. Il appartient à chaque enseignant de déterminer les connaissances historiques qui peuvent contribuer à la maîtrise des techniques utilisées en histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté.