Print section

Ethics and Religious Culture

Introduction

This document is complementary to the program and is designed to help teachers plan their teaching. It provides additional information on the knowledge students must acquire and use in Cycles One and Two in order to develop the program’s three competencies and meet its objectives: the recognition of others and the pursuit of the common good. It is divided into three sections corresponding to the program’s three competencies. Each section is preceded by a short text that provides an overview of the learning to be acquired and focuses on the main orientations of the program.

Based on what they have learned at the elementary level, secondary students continue to develop the competencies Reflects on ethical questions, Demonstrates an understanding of the phenomenon of religion and Engages in dialogue. In ethics, the prescribed themes help students to further their reflection on the meaning of conduct and on the values and norms that the members of a given society or group adopt in order to guide or regulate their actions. Similarly, the prescribed themes in religious culture help students to better understand the main elements that make up religious traditions. Finally, the learning initiated at the elementary level regarding the practice of dialogue continues at the secondary level. It allows students to master the various forms of dialogue, to choose the conditions that foster dialogue and to acquire the means to develop and examine a point of view.

The students progressively construct their understanding of the program concepts by dealing with increasingly complex content. In this way, over the years, students gradually acquire the concepts related to the ethics component of the program, such as value, norm, reference or ethical question. As for the religious culture component, by exploring various forms of religious expression in their cultural and social environment, students construct their understanding of this concept.

It is important to remember that it is through the practice of dialogue that the Ethics and Religious Culture program aims to form citizens who are able to reflect on ethical questions and understand the phenomenon of religion in a spirit of openness.

Éthique et culture religieuse

Imprimer la section

Présentation de la discipline

Le présent document constitue un complément au programme et vise à faciliter la planification de l’enseignement. Il apporte des précisions sur les connaissances que les élèves doivent acquérir et utiliser à chacun des deux cycles d’enseignement, afin de développer les trois compétences du programme et ainsi tendre vers ses finalités, qui sont la reconnaissance de l’autre et la poursuite du bien commun. Il est constitué de trois sections qui correspondent aux trois compétences du programme. Chacune d’elles est précédée d’un court texte qui présente globalement les apprentissages à réaliser et attire l’attention sur certaines orientations importantes du programme.

En s’appuyant sur ce qu’ils ont appris au primaire, les élèves du secondaire poursuivent le développement des compétences Réfléchir sur des questions éthiques, Manifester une compréhension du phénomène religieux et Pratiquer le dialogue. En éthique, les thèmes prescrits les amènent à approfondir leur réflexion sur la signification des conduites ainsi que sur les valeurs et les normes que se donnent les membres d'une société ou d'un groupe pour guider et réguler leurs actions. De même, les thèmes prescrits en culture religieuse leur permettent d’enrichir leur compréhension des principaux éléments constitutifs des traditions religieuses. Enfin, les apprentissages entamés au primaire relativement à la pratique du dialogue se poursuivent au secondaire. Ils permettent aux élèves de maîtriser les diverses formes du dialogue, de choisir les conditions favorables pour sa pratique et de développer des moyens pour élaborer et interroger un point de vue.

Les élèves approfondissent leur compréhension des notions et des concepts du programme en abordant des éléments de contenu de plus en plus complexes. Ainsi, les élèves acquièrent graduellement, au fil des années, les notions relatives au volet « éthique » du programme, telles que les notions de valeur, de norme, de repère ou de question éthique. Quant au volet « culture religieuse », c’est en explorant une diversité d’expressions du religieux dans leur environnement social et culturel que les élèves construisent leur compréhension de cette notion.

Il importe de rappeler que ce programme Éthique et culture religieuse s’appuie sur la pratique du dialogue pour former des citoyens capables de réfléchir sur des questions éthiques et de comprendre le phénomène religieux dans un esprit d’ouverture.